FDMC Solo Challenge Rules

The FDMC AutoSolo championship is open to all FDMC members, without needing registration.  Run on a calendar basis, the qualifying events are FDMC’s Solos at which you will automatically score Solo Challenge points, provided you have entered as an FDMC member.

Each event is of Clubman status, so you will need an RS Clubman licence to take part as well as your FDMC membership card. As per the Motorsport UK regulations for AutoSolos, all cars must be taxed, insured, MOT’d if applicable, and driven to the event.

Rules and scoring system

For all Challenge awards, a member’s best 3 scores from 4 rounds will count to their final total.  For drivers, your Challenge points from each event will be based on your class finishing position, in relation to the other FDMC members in that class. (Therefore, if the event also uses an Index system, eg for a ‘best performance on Index’ award, this will have no effect on the Challenge scores).

Any classes, amalgamated in the event, will stay separate for the purposes of Challenge scores. For the First, Second and Third overall awards in the Challenge, final scores per competitor will be the total of their best three scores, whether these were achieved in the same or different classes. Class awards in the Challenge will go to the competitors with the highest final score in each class, excluding the three competitors who win overall awards.

A driver’s score from each event will be a combination of basic points and bonus points. Basic points will be 10 for 1st in class, down to 1 for 10th in class (positions as between Challenge contenders).  Plus 0.25 bonus points for each FDMC member who you beat in your class.

From one event only, FDMC members who fill various organising roles can also score points as stated below, and if the resulting score is one of their best three, it will count towards their final score. Organiser’s points will be credited to the class in which you have entered most often as a driver:

Clerk of the Course or Secretary of the Meeting: 9 points.

Start / finish team members (all day), and signing on / results team members (ditto) 7 points.

A tie between two competitors will be decided in favour of the competitor with the higher number of points, from the first event at which they both took part (in any capacity, ie, competitor or organiser). If only three events run, the scoring basis will be the same, but counting the best 2 out of 3 scores.


A. Historics; any car registered or manufactured before 01/Jan/80
B. Other saloons / hatches / estates /4 seat coupes and convertibles, up to 1400cc
C. Other saloons / hatches / estates / 4 seat coupes and convertibles, 1401 to 1800cc
D. Other saloons / hatches / estates / 4 seat coupes and convertibles, over 1800cc
E. Production (open and fixed roof) 2 seat sports cars
F. Lower volume sports cars, kit cars suitable for road use, and others ineligible for classes A to E

Cars eligible for Class A will run in that class, rather than the corresponding class B to E. Class F will include all Lotuses, Caterhams, Westfields, Clans, Ginettas, and similar. Diesels, with or without forced induction, will be classed as per their actual capacity. A petrol engine with forced induction, in Class B or C, will move up one capacity class. A rotary engine will be classed as twice its nominal capacity.

The organisers’ decision on the most appropriate class for any car will be final.

Vehicle eligibility

· In all classes

All cars must retain the original body profile above the hub centreline, apart from accessories such as spoilers and wheel arch extensions. Cars not conforming to this requirement, or one-off specials, or kit cars of an ‘off road’ nature, are not eligible for the Solo Challenge. Suspension may be modified, within its original configuration. Tyres in Motorsport UK’s List 1B may not be used. This list is contained in the Competitors and Officials Yearbook (aka the Blue Book), which is available online here.  Also, tyres marked ‘for competition use only’, or manufactured without a full tread pattern, may not be used.

· Additional eligibility requirements: Classes A to E

In classes A to E, cars must retain the original panel and window materials although accessories such as spoilers and wheel arch extensions may be added. They must have full trim and the original number of seats, although the type may be replaced. The engine must be of the original manufacture and original basic type (eg: BMC ‘A’ series) and must be fitted in the original position, but may be a different version, may be modified, and may be a different capacity, provided the car is entered in the class corresponding to its actual capacity. The transmission must be also of the original manufacture and original basic type, but internal parts can be changed, eg, ratios and differential type, including fitting an LSD. Cars not meeting all the above requirements are eligible only for Class F.